• The Narratives - Golden Silence

    Heute eine kurze Empfehlung für Freunde des folkigen Indiepops mit Boy/Girl-Gesang im Stile von Mates Of State, The Mynabirds, The Submarines oder Death Cab For Cutie.

    The Narrative sind Jesse Gabriel (Gesang, Gitarre, Banjo, Autoharp, Percussion) und Suzie Zeldin (Gesang, Piano, Keyboards, percusssion) und "Golden Silence" ist nach "The Narrative" (2010) das zweite Album des US-amerikanischen Duos. Die lange Wartezeit auf Album Nummer zwei war finanziellen Zwängen der Indie-Band geschuldet, die "Golden Silence" bisher auch nur als digitalen Download über ihre Bandcamp-Seite anbieten kann.

    Zunächst die Single "Chasing A Feeling" als Video, dann ein paar lobende Worte für "Golden Silence":

    The album is bubbly and gentle, while still worth dancing to. The album’s second track, “Chasing a Feeling,” features quite a few synthy guitars, and a lot of blithe, sweet tones. Vocalist Suzie Zeldin has a soothing, light voice that suits the band’s sound perfect. Her voice in harmony with Jesse Gabriel’s sounds like milk and honey. The two are quite a dynamic duo, and it shows, as they mesh together so well in every single song – vocally, instrumentally. Their sound is reminiscent of Echosmith’s most recent album – very synthpop influenced, and also Daughter’s – very indie and vocal-heavy, in the best way.
    Golden Silence is also lyrically so divine. The line “our eyes like frosted window-panes,” in “Already Changed” is so simple it almost goes unnoticed, but is still such an intriguing description. The Narrative does an incredible job with just that – narrating. Their album tells stories of love, life, and relationships, and does so in a way that people won’t want to stop listening to.
    (stitched sound)

  • 2 Kommentare:

    Ingo hat gesagt…

    6 Punkte

    Dirk hat gesagt…

    Feines Indiepop-Album. 7 Punkte

    Die 10 besten Alben von Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds

    10. Murder Ballads (1996)
    9. Let Love In (1994)
    8. The Boatman's Call (1997)
    7. Skeleton Tree (2016)
    6. Henry's Dream (1992)
    5. Tender Prey (1988)
    4. Push The Sky Away (2013)
    3. Abattoir Blues / The Lyre Of Orpheus (2004)
    2. No More Shall We Part (2001)
    1. The Good Son (1992)

    (ausgewählt von Dirk)