• The Dears - Times Infinity Volume Two

    Im Verlauf der letzten Jahrzehnte war es eine schöne Tradition in der Rockmusik, dass Alben aus zwei Teilen bestanden oder als Fortsetzung des Vorgängers zu verstehen waren. Meistens war dies bereits an Titel und Plattencover ersichtlich (The Kinks „Preservation Act 1“ (1973) und „Preservation Act 2“ (1974) oder Queen „A Night At The Opera“ (1975) und „A Day At The Races“ (1976)), gelegentlich aber auch nicht (David Bowie „The Rise And Fall Of Ziggy Stardust…“ (1972) und „Aladdin Sane“ (1973)). 
    Es konnte sein, dass die folgenden Alben zum größten Teil aus nicht verwendeten Songs der vorherigen Aufnahmesessions stammten (Metallica „Load“ (1996) und „ReLoad (1997)), dass beide Alben am gleichen Tag erschienen (Guns n’ Roses „Use Your Illusion I“ und „Use Your Illusion II“ (1997)) oder dass bestimmte Aufnahmesituationen nach Jahren wieder aufgegriffen wurden (Neil Young „Harvest“ (1972) und „Harvest Moon“ (1992) oder Joe Jackson „Night And Day“ (1982) und „Night And Day II“ (2000)). Kurios mutet die Fortsetzung „Crome Dreams II“ (2007) von Neil Young an, denn „Chrome Dreams“ war 1977 nicht veröffentlicht worden.
    Manchmal sollten auch ins Stocken geratene Plattenverkäufe wieder angekurbelt und eine Karriere wieder ins Rollen gebracht werden - was einmal funktionierte konnte man dann auch mehrfach wiederholen (Meatloaf „Bat Out Of Hell“ (1977), „Bat Out Of Hell II“ (1993) und „Bat Out Of Hell III“ (2006) oder Mike Oldfield „Tubular Bells“ (1973), „Tubular Bells II“ (1992), „Tubular Bells III“ (1998) und „The Millennium Bell“ (1999)).

    Diese Tradition ist etwas in Vergessenheit geraten, daher ist es gut, dass sie von The Dears wieder aufgegriffen wird. Die kanadische Band lässt „Times Infinity Volume One“ (2015) nun „Times Infinity Volume Two“ folgen, nur zeitlich hat sich das Projekt etwas verzögert, denn der zweite Teil war ursprünglich für das Frühjahr 2016 angekündigt worden. Zumindest die Vorhersage, dass der erste Teil der positivere sein sollte, trifft zu und das, obwohl The Dears nicht gerade als Gute-Laune-Band bekannt sind. Liedtitel wie „Taking It To The Grave“, „Until Deathrow“ und „I’m Sorry That I Wished You Dead“ sprechen für sich. Das Album tut es auch. Wieder einmal ein großer Wurf einer leider viel zu unbekannten Band.

    ‘Taking It To The Grave’ begins the record and it is Yanchak’s voice to the fore as Lightburn adds backing vocals to a track that builds from a simple synth motif into a beautifully orchestrated piece that gathers sonic momentum as it goes – it’s an effective opener and sets the bar high. ‘All The Hail Marys’ was apparently the working title for the album, and is a stunningly soulful track with more dramatic yet simple production, while lead single ‘Of Fisticuffs’ has a curiously ‘old English’ title for a Canadian band to use. (…)1998’ takes things off in a far sunnier, more upbeat direction, with its refrain “This is being alive”, before ‘Until Deathrow’ takes things down again; it combines a stately pace with squelchy keyboards and empathetic strings, which are used brilliantly throughout the album.‘Guns and Knives’, meanwhile, is a huge anthem and is potentially the centrepiece of the record, showcasing Lightburn’s wonderful way around a lyric: “Should I be bringing guns or knives / To this fight for our lives / Or should I come in peace?”. ‘I’m Sorry That I Wished You Dead’, meanwhile shows The Dears’ sometimes overlooked humour – a deliberately glum song title to mask a much lighter track. “I’m not sick / I’m just tired of you / So I’m going home” sings Yanchak over a sprightly orchestral backing.Almost-title-track ‘I Love You Times Infinity’ is a subtle grower, while closer ‘End Of Tour’, apparently about the end of the band’s 2006 UK Tour, has an understated guitar riff and Yanchak’s subtle backing vocals and is a sweet end to the record.When all’s said and done, it could just be that the two Times Infinity records are considered The Dears’ best work. …Volume Two is another triumph.(God Is In The TV)

    The through-line from Volume One is more prominent vocal contributions from Yanchak, who sang lead on one of that record's best tracks, the haunting "Onward and Downward." The leadoff track for Volume Two, "Taking it to the Grave," sees Yanchak right back in fine form, with her distinctive vocals yielding to an extended guitar freak-out. As for the rest of Side A, "Of Fisticuffs" is a quintessentially maudlin Dears stomper, and future fan favourite "1998" is another reminder of all the things you should still love about this band. Not a bad start. The back half of the record is a little more restrained and contemplative, with a resigned, weary feel that's reminiscent of their unjustly overlooked 2008 record Missiles. Album closer and Side B highlight "End of Tour" is a strangely hopeful and resonant song that finds Lightburn pleading, "Please don't go / I won't face this world without you." This could be a paean to his partner, or to his band, but the pure feeling it conveys encapsulates what has always been great about the Dears. Though the fanfare surrounding the band may have dwindled slightly, the heartfelt emotion they deliver has not.(Exclaim)

  • 3 Kommentare:

    Dirk hat gesagt…

    Kann mich leider nicht so packen wie Vol. 1. Dennoch: 7 Punkte

    Olly Golightly hat gesagt…

    Vielleicht sollte ich mir Volume 1 mal anhören... 7,5 Punkte

    Ingo hat gesagt…

    7 Punkte

    Die 10 besten Alben von Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds

    10. Murder Ballads (1996)
    9. Let Love In (1994)
    8. The Boatman's Call (1997)
    7. Skeleton Tree (2016)
    6. Henry's Dream (1992)
    5. Tender Prey (1988)
    4. Push The Sky Away (2013)
    3. Abattoir Blues / The Lyre Of Orpheus (2004)
    2. No More Shall We Part (2001)
    1. The Good Son (1992)

    (ausgewählt von Dirk)